top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRoxie Aguiniga

Accidental Poshmark Auction Bid


Last week, I was browsing through my Poshmark app, a popular marketplace for buying and selling secondhand clothing, when I stumbled upon a beautiful dress that caught my eye. It was the perfect size and style for an upcoming event I had in mind, and to my surprise, it was also listed at a very reasonable price. Without hesitation, I placed a bid on the dress and went about my day.



A few days later, I received a notification that I had won the item. Excitedly, I opened the app to confirm my purchase, only to realize that I had accidentally bid a much higher amount than I intended. In fact, my bid was almost double the listed price of the dress!



My heart sank as I realized my mistake. I had been using the Poshmark app for a while now and had never encountered this issue before. I frantically searched for a way to retract my bid, but to my dismay, there was no option to do so. I then reached out to the seller, apologizing and explaining my situation, hoping that they would understand and cancel the transaction.



To my relief, the seller was very understanding and agreed to cancel the transaction. However, I still felt embarrassed and frustrated with myself for making such a careless mistake. I couldn't help but wonder how this could have happened.



After some research, I discovered that Poshmark operates on an auction-style format. This means that when a buyer places a bid on an item, it becomes an active auction and other users can place higher bids. The highest bidder at the end of the auction wins the item. If the buyer changes their mind or makes a mistake, there is no way to retract the bid.



This auction-style format is what sets Poshmark apart from other online marketplaces. It adds an element of excitement and competition for buyers, but it also comes with the risk of accidentally bidding a higher amount than intended. Poshmark does have a feature called 'Offer to Likers' where buyers can privately negotiate a price with the seller, but this option is only available for items that have been 'liked' by the buyer beforehand.



In my case, I had not 'liked' the dress before placing my bid, so the 'Offer to Likers' feature was not available to me. This is something I wish I had known before placing my bid, as it would have saved me from this unfortunate situation.



After my experience, I learned to be more cautious when bidding on items on Poshmark. I now make sure to double-check the bid amount before submitting, and I always 'like' the item first to have the option of negotiating with the seller if needed. I also highly recommend this tip to other Poshmark users to avoid any accidental bids.



In the end, my accidental Poshmark auction bid turned out to be a learning experience. It made me more aware of the platform's features and how to avoid similar mistakes in the future. While it was a bit of a hassle to cancel the transaction, I am grateful for the understanding seller and the lesson learned.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page